Denver’s Traffic Ticket Defense Attorneys
Kurtz & Peckham has significant experience in the arena of defending drivers in traffic cases. You can rely on us to give you up-to-the-minute traffic law information regarding the policies of metro area courthouses and the DMV. Click Here to learn about our Defense of traffic tickets.
Our traffic defense practice involves frequent appearances in Denver, Aurora, Westminster, Thornton, Broomfield, Boulder, Greeley, Littleton, Commerce City, Fort Collins, Lakewood, Longmont, Lafayette, Brighton, Adams County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, and Arapahoe County.
We specialize in defending all types of motorists, truck drivers, taxi drivers, limo drivers, and bus drivers.
Cases In Which We Specialize
The traffic cases we handle include:
- Moving violations (speeding, careless, improper lane change)
- Reckless driving
- Vehicular assault
- Hit & Run
- Failure to Report
- Driving Under Restraint (go here for our section on DUR)
- Driving Under Suspension
- Alcohol-Related Driving Offenses (DUI, DWAI, UDD – go here for more info)
- Out-of State Licenses (go here for more information)
Legal Assistance for Motorists
Kurtz & Peckham has developed significant experience in the area of defending motorists in traffic cases.
In many cases, Kurtz & Peckham can save you time and money by appearing in court on your behalf. Depending upon the courthouse and other circumstances, you may not have to appear in court. With your authorization, courts often allow us to resolve your traffic matter without your presence, saving you time and money from loss of work and other commitments.
In addition, you may not even have to come into our office to take advantage of our assistance. We can meet with you and open your case over the phone. Payment of attorney’s fees is accepted though cash, check, money order, or credit card.
If you have a ticket, summons, or notice of suspension, call or come into our office today for a free consultation and a fee quote to see how we can help.
Potential Impact of Traffic Tickets
Speeding and other traffic citations may result in the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges. Your insurance company could increase your auto insurance premium when you plead guilty to speeding or other moving violations. By reducing the charge on a ticket to a non-moving violation, we may help you avoid insurance premium increases. By contesting a ticket, you can limit fines and avoid possible license suspension. In many cases, we can reduce the number of points or save you from any points being assessed against your license.
Whether you are interested in keeping a clean driving record, saving money, or maintaining your license to drive, you can count on receiving expert advice and informed counsel from Kurtz & Peckham attorneys.
Colorado Points System
The Colorado Department of Revenue has authority to suspend the license of any driver who has been convicted of traffic violations resulting in the accumulation of a certain number of points, depending upon your age (C.R.S. § 42-2-127(1)(a)):
If you are an ADULT over 21 years of age, your license to drive will be suspended upon the accumulation of 12 points within 12 months or 18 points within a 24 month period.
If you are a MINOR driver 18 to 21 years old, the DMV will suspend your license when you reach 9 points within a 12 month period or 12 points within 24 months. The DMV will also suspend a license if you accumulate 14 points over the life of the license, if the offenses all occurred after age 18.
If you are MINOR driver under age 18, the DMV will suspend your license when you reach 6 points in 12 months or 7 points within 24 months. The DMV will also suspend your license if you accumulate 7 points over the life of the license, if the offenses all occur prior to age 18.
A Chauffer license will be suspended when you reach 16 points within 12 months, 24 points within 24 months, or 28 points within 48 months. All of the points must be accumulated while driving in the course of employment.
The period of time that a point affects your driving record is measured from the date of violation until the date of the next violation. The period does not run from the date you enter a guilty plea, are found guilty, or sentenced for a traffic violation. However, the Department does not assess the points against a license until a conviction is entered for the traffic violation. C.R.S. § 42-2-127(2)(a).
The Department may suspend a license due to points for up to one year. Drivers are eligible for a probationary license when the suspension is due to the accumulation of points. The Department’s Hearing Officers have discretion whether or not to issue a probationary license.
The Department may suspend or revoke a driver’s license for many reasons — alcohol and drug-related driving offenses, nonpayment of child support, driving under restraint, driving without insurance, failure to appear in court. You should contact counsel to discuss the implications of these actions, your due process rights, and the steps necessary for reinstatement, if possible.
If you receive a Notice of Suspension, Cancellation, or Revocation you must request a hearing according to the terms of the Notice. Call Kurtz & Peckham immediately to arrange a consultation.
Speeding (MPH over posted limit):
1 to 4 – 0
5 to 9 – 1
10 to 19 – 4
20 to 39 – 6
40 or more – 12
Speed Contests – 12
Eluding Police Officer – 12
Failure to report accident – 12
Failure to maintain or show proof of insurance – 4
Reckless driving – 8
Careless driving – 4
Driving without license (2nd or subsequent offense) – 6
Failure to stop for school signals – 6
Failure to reduce speed when special hazard exists – 3
Improper passing – 4
Following too closely – 4
Failure to observe traffic signal – 4
Improper turn – 3
Failure to yield right of way – 3
Defective head lamps – 1
Defective tail lamps – 0
Defective or Unsafe Vehicle – 2
Driving while ability impaired – 8
Driving while under the influence – 12